Mouse sensitivity mysteriously decreases upon new match...

Talk about anything UT2004 related
Post Reply
H1gH T3cH
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:32 am

And then gradually tightens up after a few seconds.

I've read others that have experienced this after some google searches, but nobody seems to know why this happens or more importantly, how to resolve it.

Any ideas?
DW_Ant
DW Clan Member
Posts: 2645
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: North Carolina

Do you have a mouse that adjusts your sensitivity when you press a button?

Are you running UT through steam?
The difference between successful people from others is
not in the lack of strength,
not in the lack of knowledge,
but rather in the lack of will.

FFE466

_________________________
{F}{AH}{CivFR}{XC}{U}{DF}{CJ}{SD}
H1gH T3cH
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:32 am

Yes, I have a logitech G5. And no I'm not running UT through steam.

Thanks for any help or ideas!

This was also a problem for a guy using a Deathadder as well, btw.
DW_Ant
DW Clan Member
Posts: 2645
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: North Carolina

I know I accidentally click on the sensitivity buttons when I switch to my Lightning Gun (middle mouse button). Whenever the sensitivity decreases, have you tried pressing the plus button on your mouse to bring it back up?
The difference between successful people from others is
not in the lack of strength,
not in the lack of knowledge,
but rather in the lack of will.

FFE466

_________________________
{F}{AH}{CivFR}{XC}{U}{DF}{CJ}{SD}
H1gH T3cH
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:32 am

I'm not accidentally hitting the button to change sens. I don't press any buttons on the mouse when a new match starts but the sens is way lower than it should be but only for a matter of seconds and then tightens up to normal. Really weird.

Also read that this problem has happened to a guy with a G400. So this same problem has happened with G5's, Deathadder, G400.

I'll toy around with the various mouse fixes like accel fixes, turning off smoothing on the OS level as well as ingame. Will see if that helps and will report back.

What mouse and OS are you using, Ant?
MOOKE
Killer in Training
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:32 am
Xfire: m00k3

I get the same problem with my g500 but I never bothered looking for a permanent fix. If you find one please share.

When it happens to me I just hit the sens button and that fixes it.
NahasapeemapetiloN wrote: DONT HATE THE PLAYER HATE THE GAME
-goose-
Camper
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:00 pm

If you have a logitech mouse there are two things you can try.

1) In the logitech control panel, disable all but the highest sensitivity setting.

2) There is a checkbox/radio button that says something like "OS control" or "Logitech control" Make sure it is set to "OS control."
DW_BrainPan
DW Clan Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 11:00 pm

-goose- wrote:If you have a logitech mouse there are two things you can try.

1) In the logitech control panel, disable all but the highest sensitivity setting.

2) There is a checkbox/radio button that says something like "OS control" or "Logitech control" Make sure it is set to "OS control."
Yeah, it's called "OS implementation", found on the game settings page/tab.
Image
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world. Those who read binary, and everyone else.
4013 is only a FAD
And 2989? Well that's just BAD
H1gH T3cH
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:32 am

Thanks guys. I will try that and report back.
Post Reply